Is your iPhone spying on you? One app developer says it definitely could be. It all comes down to the way Apple grants apps access to your phone's camera.

An Austrian app developer who works for Google was able to create an app that took pictures via the phone's camera every second and uploaded them - all without the user knowing. The same could be done with video.

According to the Telegraph, the developer, Felix Krause, once you tell your phone that an app can access your camera for a legitimate reason - like entering a bar code, for example - the app can use your camera at any time, without any signal to you that it's doing so.

What's the solution?

The best fix would be for Apple to change the way it gives apps permission to access your phone's camera.

The next best thing is for you to check which apps can use your camera in your phone's settings:

  1. Open Settings in the iPhone app, and go to Privacy.
  2. Select Camera, which will show you which apps have access.
  3. Uncheck the apps that you don't think need access.

According to The Telegraph, "there are few examples of apps being found to secretly record users - apart from those specifically designed for this...The practice is banned by Apple's App Store guidelines, which state that a "reasonably conspicuous audio, visual or other indicator must be displayed to the user as part of the Application to indicate that a Recording is taking place".


Does this information cause you to rethink your iPhone usage?