Get Your Fishing License At These Central New York Locations
There's nothing better than spending a nice afternoon fishing in Central New York unless it's cut short because you're fishing without a license. Pick up your license at these locations.
According to the DEC, New York State requires everyone over the age of 15 to have a license to fish in both fresh and saltwater. If you do get caught fishing without a license, you can find yourself in court. Penalties for fishing without a license can be as bad as a fine up to $250 or even up to 15 days in jail.
It's important to go and pick up your license and here are some places you can go and get yours:
- Herb Philipson's in New Hartford or Herkimer
- Gander Mountain in New Hartford or Watertown
- Bass Pro Shops in Utica
- Dick's Sporting Goods in New Hartford or Syracuse
- Walmart in Utica, New Hartford, or Herkimer
- You can also purchase your license online
Fishing licenses vary by price and how long you would need one for. For residents of New York, a 24-hour license costs $5, a 7-day license costs $12, and a 1-year license costs $25. For non-residents, a 24-hour license costs $10, a 7-day license costs $28, and a 1-year license costs $50.
You can also qualify for a free or reduced license if:
- You are an active duty military member
- A military veteran with 40% or greater disability
- 70 years old or older
- Legally blind
- A non-resident student attending a New York State college or university full-time
*Story Written and Submitted by 96.1 The Eagle Intern Dan Curtacci*
NEXT: Meet Susan Campbell of Rome
[Information compiled from http://www.dec.ny.gov/]