In 2014, New York State passed a law allowing the use of sparklers and small ground fireworks leading up to the Independence Day holiday and New Years Eve. However, there's a catch to the law - It's only legal in counties that pass a local law to use them. According to, permanent and specialty fireworks retailers that are certified by the state are allowed to sell sparklers from June 1 - July 5. Temporary stands or tents have from June 20 - July 5 to sell them.

These are Upstate NY counties that allow sparklers:

  • Albany County
  • Cayuga County
  • Chemung County
  • Clinton County
  • Cortland County
  • Essex County
  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Hamilton County
  • Herkimer County
  • Jefferson County
  • Lewis County
  • Livingston County
  • Madison County
  • Montgomery County
  • Niagara County
  • Oneida County
  • Ontario County
  • Rensselaer County
  • Saratoga County
  • Schenectady County
  • Schoharie County
  • Schuyler County
  • St. Lawrence County
  • Sullivan County
  • Tioga County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County

New Yorkers under the age of 18, no matter the county are prohibited from using any type of sparkling devices. It's also a crime to provide sparklers to a minor.



More From Lite 98.7