New NYS Law Means You Have Until April 1 To Replace Your Smoke Detectors
Several new laws come into effect in the new year, including one that requires you to replace your smoke detectors.
The new law, NYS Law 399-ccc, says that all new or replacement smoke detectors in New York State are required to be powered by a 10-year, sealed, non removable battery, or hardwired to the house.
If you're a homeowner who rents out your home, or you're planning on selling your home - these changes need to made by April 1, 2019.
You don't need to replace detectors that are currently in your home - but any that you replace need to be 10-year battery powered or hardwired.
The new smoke detectors are more expensive up front - but they cost less over the life of the detector because of a lesser need for replacement batteries.
The new law is designed to prevent fatalities due to fire. FASNY, the Firefighter's Association of the State of New York praised the new law:
“As firefighters, we frequently encounter the horrific effects of fires in homes without working smoke alarms,” a FASNY representative said. This law "makes New York State a safer place and will undoubtedly go a long way toward preventing future home fire deaths."
According to the National Fire Protection Association, three out of every five home fire deaths in the United States takes place in a home without working smoke alarms. Firefighters frequently encounter smoke alarms that have been disabled or are missing batteries.