Inside Utica’s Lunatic Asylum ~ The Haunts And Legends Of New York
Looming over West Utica since 1843, the Utica State Lunatic Asylum was once on the forefront of the progressive care of the mentally ill as New York's first center for their care. Closed now for decades, the main building of the Utica Psychatric Center, known as Old Main, has captivated those who live in its shadow and hear stories of its Haunts and Legends.
Lite 98.7's Eric Meier has teamed up with Folklorist P.W. Creighton to explore the haunts and legends of New York. Through their travels into the dark and often overlooked spaces they will bring these historic sites back to life and make some unexpected discoveries along the way.
In this episode Phil guides the explorers to Old Main off of Court Street. We look at the sprawling grounds of the complex and explore footage taken from inside Old Main the building was opened in the summer of 2014 for an exceptionally rare public tour.
We also talk with Brian Howard from the Oneida County Historical Society about the history of the complex and the role it played locally as well as nationally in the care of the mentally ill.
Finally Phil explores the reasons why forbidden structures like Old Main lead themselves to readily to rumors of paranormal activity.
Nodding to public interest in Old Main, the State Office of Mental Health, which owns the building and surrounding complex, will be opening it up for tours in the spring and summer of 2015.